February 8, 2011

  • Sunday Guests and Revivals

     We are having a week of Revivals at church. Denny Eicher from OH is here along with his wife Marie. We had just come away from a week of having overnight guests and I was ready for things to slow down a bit, so the thought of getting ready for church every night was not a welcome idea. I was thinking I might just skip a few nights so life wouldn’t be so busy. In fact, the first night (Friday) I didn’t think Dan was going because he was trying to finish up school work for the week. So I was figuring on staying home. Well, when he got home from work, he said he was planning to go to church, so I wasn’t going to stay home and have him go by himself for no good reason! whatevah *sigh*


     So we went…..and I was so blessed!! And we went again on Saturday, Sunday, Sunday night and Monday night……and each time I was encouraged, convicted, and strengthened! Now why would I want to miss that?? I really am looking forward to going the next two nights even though I’ll be gone most of the day today! I think the older I’m getting, the more I am realizing how much we do to please our flesh….and how little we do to please God! And I want to change that in me…and in my family!

     Sunday we had Denny & Marie and Eric & Desirae Martin here for lunch. I am really starting to enjoy having company…we can learn so much from each other and be encouraged! And I think I am starting to enjoy “the Mennonite game” as it’s called….it’s amazing who knows who!! happy And the more people I learn to know, the more everyone fits together! silly Heehee!!

     But maybe now I need to learn how to set an attractive table!! whatevah How dull is this??


    Meatball Sub casserole, corn and coleslaw salad were the main course…we had Double Fudge cake and raspberry cool whip jello for dessert. Mmmmm!!

    Today is our homeschool groups Valentine party followed by the 3rd week of American Sign Language. Hopefully I’ll get some good pictures to share!

     Have a blessed day!!

Comments (12)

  • Mmmm.. meatball sub casserole. Its one of my favorites. I need to make it again. Glad you were blessed by the sermons. You know- I find, too that the times I least feel like going to church are the times I am often the most blessed.

    Happy Tuesday to you and yours.  

  • That meatball sub casserole looks soooooooooo yummy.  I’ve never heard of that.  Do you share your recipe?

    And I am so with you on feeling like I do way more to please my flesh than to please God.  Selfishness is a tough struggle.

  • cssserole is looking good!  you’re welcome to have us over for your company anytime! he!he!

  • @smilesbymiles - 

     Recipe: 1/3 c. chopped onion 1/4 c. seasoned bread crumbs 3T. grated Parmesan cheese 1 lb. ground beefMix together and shape into 1″ balls. (I cheated this time and used some store bought ones I had in the freezer) Place in shallow baking pan and bake at 400* for 15-20 minutes. (skip this step if  you use precooked, store bought) 1 loaf Italian bread cut into 1 inch pieces 1 8 oz.pkg. cream cheese, softened 1/2 c. mayonnaise (not light or fat free) 1 tsp Italian seasoning 1/4 tsp pepper 2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese 1 (28 oz) jar spaghetti sauce 1 c. waterArrange bread in ungreased 13 X 9 pan. Combine cream cheese, mayo, Italian seasoning and pepper. Spread over bread and sprinkle with 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese. Combine spaghetti sauce, water and meatballs. Pour and arrange over bread. Sprinkle with remaining mozzarella cheese and bake uncovered at 350* for 30 minutes!

  • Yum!  David would love this!  I’m going to try to remember this to try some night soon.  Thanks!

  • I looked up the recipe on TOH & found 2 versions.  But a lot of the comments indicated that the bread gets soggy.  Did you have any trouble with that?  (I despise soggy bread!!!)  It looks like something that our family would really like–but I’m tempted to try it w/o the cream cheese/mayo layer…that just doesn’t sound right to me.  What do you think?—would you change anything?

  • Wow-I’ve never heard of meatball sub casserole. I’d love to try it. Have you every substituted anything for the mayo? Say, yogurt or sour cream?

    I also enjoyed hearing your insight from the mtgs. Good stuff.

  • @itsayoderworld - Yes, the bread definitely gets soggy! This time though it was more soggy around the outside and crisper in the middle…not sure why!?? I would NOT change the cream cheese/mayo layer! I love that part! 

    @SpeakinginLove - No, I never tried a substitute for that. My recipe DOES say no low fat or light mayo, though! Not sure why? I used Mayo with Olive Oil.
     Do you know Denny? Just wondered since he is a BMA minister…and closer your way. 

  • Hmmmm….I’m wondering if changing the order of the layers would help…meatballs & sauce on the bottom, cream cheese layer, then buttered/oiled/seasoned bread covered w/ cheese.  I might have to do some experimenting.  I adore Italian dishes, and our boys adore meatballs, so this recipe really tempts me (especially w/ my canned marinara sauce).

  • @SpeakinginLove - I saw on the TOH site that one person said they used low-fat mayo and low-fat cream cheese and it turned out fine.

  • @itsayoderworld - That would be interesting to try…my family would probably like it a little better! 

  • The older I get the more I enjoy the Mennonite game too. We’re blessed. That casserole looks so yummy! When it’s so cold outside baking is fun. It was 1.5 this morning at our house. Shiver.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *