February 22, 2011

  • Plagues-Ugh!!

    Today in History/Bible we are learning about the 10 plagues in Egypt, brought on by Pharoah’s hardened heart.

     The first plague God sent was having the water turned to blood.

    I didn’t think it necessary to draw blood from anyone, so we settled for food coloring! winky

     Danny didn’t think it looked to appetizing (I thought it looked like Kool Aid! laughing)

    I cannot imagine going out to bathe in the morning only to find the water replaced with blood…..or taking my bucket out to the well, only to draw up a bucket full of blood. I think that would be enough to make me repent right then and there….a good sign my heart is still partly soft. ;)

    The blood supposedly stank…I can just imagine!

    Tamara got brave enough to take a taste….

    How interesting that the magicians were also able to make this happen. :O

    The second plague was the FROGS! Frogs, frogs everywhere!! In their houses, in their hair, in their food and underwear! :) I don’t mind frogs too much, but having them all over my house would be disgusting, not to mention in the food!! :P And I’m sure they stepped on them (a fear of mine) since they were all over the place!! Gross!! What was wrong with this Pharoah guy?? Just let the people go already!!

    We made 96 frogs and hid them all over the house…..

     

    In the cup cupboard…..(some are in cups, too)

     

    …on the stove top….

    in the fridge….

    by the light switches….

    in our shoes….

    under the toilet lid…..

    hiding IN the rolls of TP (can’t wait to see who finds this one!! laughing)

    in our clean clothes…..

    found these on my desk chair when I came to sit at the computer!

    There are even some in our beds and under our pillows. stunned

    It’s soon time to leave for sign language class, so we’ll see where all we discover frogs tonight and get them cleaned up by bedtime! happy IF we can find Moses and Aaron to lift the plague!!

     More plague news tomorrow….. (ewww! A frog just jumped into my lap!!!! shocked shocked shocked)

     

Comments (17)

  • What a creative way to make it more real and help the children to remember better. I am starting to see more and more why I am not able to homeschool Lanette. My gifting isn’t teaching but I’m okay with that.

  • I like this. Are you using any book for it or just thinking up the things on your own?

  • wow! i love this clever approach to bringing those long time ago experiences to “life!” well almost to life. 
    i cannot imagine the smell. ugh. and the mess with all those critters. ewwww.

    i like tamara’s t-shirt. have you all been there? i wanted to see that bridge when we were out in…1992! but we ran out of time.
    maybe the next trip we can. but as you can tell, it’s not a vacation that we are getting to rush back into!

  • @down_onthefarm - yes, we were there last April [loved it!!]….our best friends moved out there in 2007 and we HAD to go see them! I had never been west of Arkansas, so this was a treat for all of us! Our kids had never been on that type of vacation before either. Our vacations usually consist of traveling to see mine (PA) or Dan’s (GA & SC) family! 

    @thechaplainsdaughter - We are using My Father’s World….this was suggestion in there! :)

  • @floridabreze - oh boy. now i am going to sound nosy. :) and i don’t want to sound that way because i don’t want to BE that way! but… we have friends out there too… in Westcliffe and the Springs…maybe we know of the same people!

  • @down_onthefarm - I kind of doubt it, but who knows….our friends are the Riehls and they live in Penrose/Canon City…we also know some other people in that area that are involved in New Horizons ministries. Ever heard of it??

  • @down_onthefarm - Ok, now looking at the map, I see that the people we know live in between the 2 places you mentioned……so who do YOU know?? (Now it’s my turn to be nosy!!) ;)

  • ever heard of New Horizons? yes indeedy! sang in the first choral tour back in 88. whoa. that makes me sound old, doesn’t it?  :) and loren was one of my teachers at smbi…also *cough* back in the day! we also know the mullet family who were a part of the ministry when it started, and dave and jo ann schlabach are good friends of ours…

  • @down_onthefarm - OK!!  So where did you grow up? 

  • in MD with just a scattering of tiny mennonite churches. lee m. was the preacher at my church back home…most people seem to have heard of or know him if they are familiar with smbi…

  • @down_onthefarm - I seeee!!  (Mumau?? If so, I’ve heard the name and think I’ve seen him before, but can’t place him) How interesting…I grew up in a Mid-Atlantic church. What would have yours been?
     Too bad we can’t just chat…we might soon fill a page….haha!

  • this is fun! yep. mummau. i don’t know why i didn’t just write it all out for ya. it was lancaster conf. then keystone affiliated, now mom and dad are bma. my husband grew up in the mid atlantic churches. maybe you two would know each other? or maybe you are way younger. :)

  • @down_onthefarm - Well, what’s his name? …now I’m really curious! :) (and which church did he go to?) I am guessing you are closer to my older sisters age….I was born in 77. My sisters were born in 67, 70 and 71…and 74….and 83 :)
     Our church here in FL is BMA.

  • i’m a 69-er. The Farmer is waaaaay older than me ;) , a 67-er. so yeah. your older sister’s ages. He was a part of Bair’s and Hostetter’s churches…Richard Herr…John Forry…??? any of those ring a bell?

  • @down_onthefarm - Yes, for sure!! I had friends and cousins in that area! :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *