March 15, 2011

  • My Day

    5:30 AM- after hitting the snooze a time or two I got out of bed, packed Dan's lunch and had my devotions...

    6-7 AM- computer time....I am slowly catching up on my emails. I had 200 NEW emails and close to 900 in my inbox! I know, I know!! 

    8:00 - Kids and Mom are up and dressed....eating breakfast. happy Cinnamon Toast Crunch this morning! And a glass of Vitamin C....

    9:00 -School starts...an hour and 15 of Math....and then break time. Back again in about 10 minutes....2 pages in English (they are working through the same book on parts of speech) We are on Prepositions. Today it was finding the noun/pronoun that the preposition is talking about. Then Tamara did a page in her cursive writing book while Danny copied another days lesson from his copy work book. 
     The poem he is copying, which Tamara informed me she had to do earlier in the year, really tugged at my heart....I'd like to share it with YOU!

     

    You Forgot My Soul

    You lived next door to me for years;

    We shared our dreams, our joys and tears.

    A friend to me you were indeed;,

    A friend who helped me when in need.

     

    My faith in you was strong and sure,

    We had such trust as should endure.

    No "words" between us could impose;

    Our friends were like - and so, our foes.

     

    What sadness, then, my friend, to find

    That after all, you weren't so kind.

    The day my life on earth did end, 

    I found you weren't a faithful friend.

     

    For all those years we spent on earth,

    You never talked of second birth.

    You never spoke of my lost soul

    And of the Christ Who'd make me whole.

     

    I'm lost today eternally

    And tell you now my ernest plea.

    You cannot do a thing for me -

    No words today my bonds will free.

     

    But - do not err, my friend, again -

    Do all you can for souls of men.

    Plead with them now quite ernestly,

    Lest they be cast in hell with me.

     

    What a good, but sobering reminder!!

    I am really liking the copy work books I got for the kids this year. Thematic Copywork for Boys and Thematic Copywork for Girls They have so many good quotes from famous people, quotes about character, good poems and lots of scriptures.

    That concluded our "book work" for the day.

    12:00- Danny announced that he would like to make lunch, so I left him to work alone! happy I think his sister hung around to cheer him on...no, they really like to do things like this together. She likes to be there just for company's sake. She doesn't mind if he does all the work!! winky And he doesn't either for that matter!

    Macaroni and Cheese and Hotdogs were our lunch! silly 
     

    While they were doing that, I was doing some more research about curriculum for next year! Oh joy!!

    2:15 PM - Left the house.....stopped at the PO to ship two more Ebay sales. Dropped off Tea tickets and graded Bible Studies with a friend and then went to RCC (RiverTown Community Church) for our second week of Tae Kwon Do with our homeschool group!!

     We are doing this as a 6 week class. A young lady who used to attend our church and who is a black belt, consented to teach us basic self defense. We will have our "white belt" till we are done!! winky I'm telling you, the exercise part of it is about to beat my tail!!

     We start out by doing LOTS of stretches!! We have to touch the floor with our hands....then spread our feet farther and try to get our elbows on the ground! (Or, if you are flexible like Ashleigh, you can put your elbows on the floor in the first stance!!!stunned) I am NOT there yet!!! Ouia! That pulls in the back of my legs!!

    There are 3 of us Mom's taking the class!! laughing 

    Tamara looks like she is in extreme pain!! shocked happy We were supposed to be pulling our feet towards our body...

    More stretches.....

    This is one of the weird stretches....called a fish flop....and it looks like a bunch of fish, too!! laughing

    We learned all the basic kicks and blocks these first two weeks. Now I feel like a genuine Karate Kid.......NOT!! Haha....more like a bruised Granny!

    4:00 PM - Class is over, and we are joined by a few other families to practice singing. On Friday we are going on a field trip to a Christian Radio station in Tallahassee and we are going to sing 2 songs on the air!! cool So, if you are local, tune in to 90.1 at 10 AM Central time and you may hear us! shy Or listen online .

     Amy, the lady in black on the right, got the songs together and is the leader. However, we found out today that she is needed in NC over the weekend, so Emily G. (lady to her left) is taking over.....whew!! Glad I don't have to!

    Silas chillin' with his Momma's phone...

    Practicing a somewhat "sane" standing arrangement....

    4:45 PM- Home again....making supper.

    5:00 PM- Hear shooting outside our house.....two neighbor guys are shooting a snake on the road out in front of our place!! stunned We looked at it later and aren't sure what kind it was....kind of reminded me of a rattlesnake, but there were no rattles!??

    5:30 PM- Eating supper....hamburger stroganoff it was! And a salad!

    6:30 PM- The family is going for a bike ride....a 45 minute bike ride! If I thought I was sore already, this has only added to it. I might stay in bed all day tomorrow!!!

    Pretty much goofed off the rest of the evening....the dishes will wait till tomorrow (that is if I can get out of bed!!)

     So now, it's time to get everyone in bed.....that was a glimpse into my day!! heart Tomorrow will probably be totally different! happy Big stuff coming up this weekend!! Yay!!

Comments (3)

  • Your self defense class looks like soooo much fun! Adrian is a green belt in karate and I was in a women's kick boxing class for about a year, then had to quit because I couldn't afford it anymore. I LOVED it! I hope I can go back some day... Your stretches, etc look very familiar. 

  • I know why I can't take those classes. There is no way I can touch the floor with my hands! I think my legs are too long and my body too short and it's physically impossible. Lol!

    Good poem. A good way to show people God's love is online. Wow, that's a lot of e-mails too.

  • Ash (what I call her) is really fun!
    Looks like you had a good productive day, I'm jealous! :P

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *