April 9, 2011

  • Spring Time

     So much has been going on in our lives lately. I post things on facebook and then feel like I’m repeating myself when I post here. So if you are my facebook friend, please overlook my repetitiveness! (Whew, that was a hard word to spell!!) winky

    First, I’ll tell you about the things I have pictures for….

     Last night Dan picked up some seeds on his way home from work so we could start planting garden. 
    A little history first…..

    When we moved south we had our neighbor man plow up a garden spot for us. The first year we planted lots of greens and tomato’s and a few other things. Well, the fire ants and the heat made me dislike gardening VERY MUCH!!! So, sad to say, Dan did most of the work in the garden (I did some canning and freezing, though) So we decided no more garden. I was NOT interested in battling with ants all the time (at that point, we were not keeping after the ant hills, so they were kind of out of control!!) And the heat, oh!! The HEAT!! My blood was just too thick, me thinks! happy

     Well, last year, our neighbors plowed up a big garden behind our garage and invited us to plant whatever we wanted. We did do some watermelon and something else that got all vined over by the watermelons!! silly They were so kind as to let us harvest some of their crops when they felt like they had too much!! Our “Neighbors”, are an older couple who live alone, and also attend our church. So the two of them don’t eat that much!! 

     Fast forward to this year. Jonas put manure on the garden and got it plowed up real nice again. They planted a big garden and told us we can use the rest of the space for ourselves. I figured we’d probably not plant much…….BUT THEN…..

     I’m going to “blame” a brother-in-law here!! JK!! winky But we have been hearing so much about all the preservatives and other bad stuff added to our food and are seeing the importance of eating better….for our health, and our children’s!! 

    So this is where we are now. We are not going hog wild, just planting a little bit for now. (Hoping to do some fall gardening too)

     Jonas’ keep their tiller over here at our garden and gave us permission to use it. Well, we could NOT get it started!!! clueless We have a little bitty one that’s been sitting in the garage for awhile and that one wouldn’t start either…..

    So we went old-fashioned!! happy Good work out!! 

    We only had enough daylight left to get enough space hoed and raked for two rows of beans.

    We planted one row of baby lima’s and one of regular lima’s. Dan also bought some zipper peas to plant, but they will get planted next week. I’d also like to try some onions and lettuce, but I think they may have to wait till Fall!!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

     

    I am so glad we got kittens for the kids!! They love them. It’s funny how Tamara has her favorite and Danny his….

     A pregnant Fluffy and Tamara….

    Danny and Bozo like to climb the tree in the front yard together!pleased

     

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

     

    A big project I started last weekend and finished this week, was painting Tamara’s bedroom. She has been waiting so patiently for this day!! Her walls were just plain white. She wants a horse theme so we debated what color to go with for the walls since her carpet is pink. I picked out a pink and a brown and figured we’d do two walls of each color…..so we started~

     Danny wiped the baseboard clean….

    While Tamara brushed the walls.

    The kids did all the rolling the first day, except for up at the ceiling, and I did all the edge work.

    Turns out the brown I got looked more like Gold and it was just nasty!! It was not at all what I had pictured. Someone said it well when they said I was looking for a “paper bag” brown. So we stopped with two pick walls. Then the question was, do we do it all pink (I didn’t think that would be cool since her carpet is pink), do we go with a chocolate brown (afraid that would make her room too dark) or find another shade of brown.

     Monday we went to Walmart and I picked out another brown. I am happy with how it turned out! It really goes good with her curtains, for not taking any samples along to the store!! shocked

     So here is the finished product. Well, we still need to decorate and organize some more, but the painting is done…..whew!!!

     

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Last week I talked to my sister in GA and she told me my nephew was going to be at a church near them singing with a chorale from the Bible School he had been at for 6 weeks. Dan had off work on Friday, so we left here around 3:30, stopped and got some supper and then continued on to Meigs. We got around a little early, so we ran by my sister’s house till it was time to go to church.

    I was so thrilled to see that he had the same chorale director as I did when I attended that same Bible School back in 1995!! stunned pleased Dan Schrock was my favorite director that year!! He was so much fun. The year I was at MBS, his wife was sick. I think she had cancer, and we found out she passed away about 3 months after we came home from Bible School. sad BUT, this is so neat!! His second wife, Ruth B, from Canada, is not a stranger to me! When our youth choir went on tour to Canada in 1994, I stayed at her house overnight. Her husband had died a few years earlier when his aorta burst, if I remember right. She didn’t remember me, and I probably wouldn’t have remembered her, except for the fact that I took pictures!! winky A couple years later, she came to PA with a choir from Canada and stayed at my parents house…and that she did remember! happy So it was so cool that the two of them got married!! heart

    Dan & Ruth Schrock

    These 3 guys stayed with my sister and b-i-l that night. They had to leave pretty early the next morning to head to Sarasota.

    John M. ~ My nephew, Kevin Z,  ~ Steven Shirk

    Saturday we went into Pelham to see where the Martin’s new restaurant will be opening soon!! happy

     Isn’t that the coolest old building?? What you can’t see is the big dome on top and the spacious, spookiness of the whole place!! winky It is being remodeled and I think they are hoping to put some businesses in there. The restaurant will be in the bottom left corner.

    A peak inside….

    Can’t wait till they open!!

    Some friends of theirs were down from WI? IN? MI? I’m not sure, but from the cold north!! laughing They brought “her” car….and let us take it for a spin…or for spin(s). We had a great time!

    Nicole at the wheel. She had to behave with her Mom sitting right behind her! winky

    My sis, Chris and I enjoying the windy ride….

    Dan took the younger girls for a ride….lets just say, I think there were some people speeding that day!! surprised laughing

     

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    A few weekends ago, we went to the Air Show at the Tyndall Air Force Base.

    One of the WWII stunt planes~

    Dan and the kids behind a HUGE cargo jet!! That thing was just…..HUGE!! It’s hard to imagine something so big and so heavy flying in the sky!!

    This cool little plane landed on top of the camper while it was driving down the runway!! pleased

    And this was my favorite part of the show….a jet powered bus that went 331 MPH. That could get your kids to school fast! winky

    And the Thunderbirds put on a good show at the end!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    A pretty Luna moth on the screen outside my kitchen!

    Wow, this post is taking me longer than I thought it would!! 

     

     On Monday I am going for a consultation to the Dr. who is planning to do my gallbladder surgery. I will find out then exactly which day it will be done. Hoping it can be done that week yet!

     I had a HIDA scan done Monday, almost 2 weeks ago, and it showed that my gallbladder is only working at 17%. So I guess that explains why I was feeling so nauseated and having so much stomach ache! I am ready to eat normal again, although I DID lose 10.5 lbs!! happy

     

     Tonight we took the kids to eat at Pizza Hut to use the second to last of their Book-It coupons. After eating we drove out to the Park and took a walk and just enjoyed the beautiful evening. It was such a hot day, but tonight was lovely.

     

     Tomorrow Dan is sharing the message at church, followed by our bi-monthly Fellowship meal. I made Deviled Eggs and Blueberry Delight to take along . Wanna come??? happy Then we are going to spend the afternoon and evening with friends, boating, fishing and just hanging out!! happy

     Y’all have a blessed and relaxed Sunday….and Happy Spring!!

Comments (10)

  • oh, your garden experience the first year made me smile~ reminded me of ours. we planted a garden that shayne did most the care for.. it was a “community” garden in our little neighborhood. well the police came out one day and were looking in the garden and come to find out, one of the neighbors was growing marjuana there!!! guess maybe that guy thought no one would think to look in a family garden. and i still tease shayne about him being out there, probably pulling the weeds around those marijuana plants.. helping that guy take care of them! ;)

    we’ve wanted to do another garden the last few years though. and like you, mostly because of all the crazy stuff we’ve been hearing about what is IN food! have you ever seen the Food Inc. movie?? that’s pretty eye opening~

    lots of great pictures. fun memories. that moth is incredible – what a pretty color.

  • I love Tamar’s room colors! :)

  • Happy Gardening! I have it in my blood and have raised a huge garden for years…the veggies are so much better and my children have been spoiled on them, but I’m glad I don’t have to battle fire ants…I think several bit my foot when we were in GA this week, not so nice. Dan Schrock was my MBS chrome director too, a dozen years before he was yours! His oldest daughters are my age and they lived just 3 hours north of us so we knew the family as I was growing up.

  • @grace2be - Oh, my!! That would be very….interesting!!  I’ve never seen that movie, but I’ve watched other short clips….

    @Joanna_Ayers - Thanks!@Iamsaved4ever - Yes, those fire ants are such boogers! And we still have them in the garden. I only got 1 bite last night while working out there, but I think Tamara got 5, poor girl! That is one thing I would not miss about the south! 
     Yeh, Dan says he’s been at MBS for 30 years…not all consecutive, though.

  • Hope your garden project goes well. I like the painting. I just got done doing a bunch of painting in the house we moved into.

  • good to see a blog from you again, I really enjoy them! when you all up for the opening of the restuarant, let us know, we might would want to go too!

  • Enjoyed the update. We had the chorus at our church this morning. They did very well!! Wish I would have been looking for your nephew. :) Dana did notice they were at Meigs… he has a cousin there.

  • Hey, thats my baby brother Steven!!!!!!!!!!! They came thru here last Weds.

  • So Twila, who is your sister down here?  We attend the Meigs church, but missed the MBS program in lieu of driving to Atlanta that night.

  • @Doc_in_training - Christine Martin-they live in Pelham.

    @Ernies_girls - Really? That’s cool! We didn’t get to see much of the guys, but he seemed real friendly! 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *