March 24, 2011

  •  

    I love Spring....all the new green growth and the FLOWERS!! happy One of my favorites is wisteria. It is blooming all over the place right now. This isn't a real good picture...I just stopped along the road one day and took it. I love how it is vined all through the trees, but I realize it can be a pain too. Regardless, it looks and smells wonderful!!

    Last Friday our homeschool group went on a field trip to Faith Radio and the Jr. Museum in Tallahassee.

    Faith Radio.....

    We got there in plenty of time, so the kids had time to visit and we even practiced the songs we were going to sing.

    Tamara with her friends Bethany and Anna.

    Billy Farran, one of the volunteers with GEMS prison ministry, got this field trip arranged for us. He is good friends with the station manager and is there quite often. We were the 2nd group he had taken in this month. 

     Before we went inside we all gathered in a circle for prayer.

    Scott B....the station manager and DJ, doing his thing!

    Kay told a little about our group and each of the kids and parents got to say their name. The kids also said their age! winky

    The kids sang two songs. Scott asked for the title of the first song and Kay told him it was "Absolutely Nothing". That got some laughs!! :) The second song was taken from Isaiah 41:10, "Do not Fear". The kids did a great job for only practicing 3 times! And we don't normally sing together, so I wasn't sure how that would go. But it was great!

    The tower that sends the signal! :)

    That's the group...minus a few parents!

    From there we went to the Jr. Museum in Tallahassee 

     Loved the dogwoods that were blooming there!!

    In a 1-room schoolhouse.

    The girls singing in the church....love their different expressions! happy laughing

    I imagine in a few weeks this garden will be full of color!

    The garden was in front of this big house....LOVED the front porch!!

    These buckets were pretty heavy (and they weren't even filled with water!!) Tamara didn't think she would like that job!

    After we toured the old village, we went through the animal exhibits.....

     It was after lunch and most of the animals were just relaxed and calm! Some were hiding somewhere probably sleeping.

     A wolf~

    Bro. Billy trying out his "wings". This was the pattern one kind of goose (I think??) flies. 

    A bald Eagle ....love their majesty!

    ~A panther~

    This was part of the trail we took through the animal exhibits.

     

    Ally-gator pleased

    There was a room full of different things for the kids to do and see.....

     After the field trip, the kids and I drove to my friend Candice's house. She was having ladies there to help arrange bouquets and corsages for the Ladies Fundraiser Tea the next day. We had fun and got a lot accomplished. Dan came and picked Danny up and they spent the night with one of the board members while Tamara and I stayed with Candice and her daughters and her sister-in-law and her daughter, for the night. We ordered pizza in for supper and just spent the evening relaxing and talking!! cool It was fun just having a "girls night"!

     Candice and I got up early the next morning to get over to the Golden Eagle Country Club to set up for the Tea. Some of the men from GEMS (Gospel Express Ministries South) were there to set up the sound and help carry heavy items. The country club had all the tables set and ready, we just had to decorate them. 

     I have pictures, but they are on my other camera, which I am waiting for a USB cord for. Hopefully I can post them soon! The cord should get here today or tomorrow!! So I think I will stop for now....I can tell more about the Tea with the pictures!!

     

     

     

Comments (7)

  • Well it's Spring here in Pa.but it sure doesn't feel or look too much like Spring right now.I think everyone will be glad when Spring arrives to stay!

  • I would have enjoyed that day.

  • isn't the swamp walk so pretty and calm. do you have bears around your place? it reminded me they said bears live in the swamps (i think i read that on one of their signs)

  • @scuppernog - there have been bears spotted not far from here, but I've never seen any. Yes, they do like swampy areas.

    @loaine - I hear y'all had some "white stuff" again!!  I guess the warmer weather is sure to come, just in its own time! 

  • Your header is super cute!

     Love all the fun creative things you do with your children, it is something I always notice and admire on your blog. Reminds me of when I was homeschooled. :)

     Have a beautiful weekend!

  • That trip sounds like fun for the children AND the adults.  Very neat how they have that bar-thingy (technical term for sure) to show how the wings flap.  Very neat.  The swampy area with the gator...um...you can keep it.  They give me the eeby geebies. 

    Can't wait to see your tea pictures.  I love looking at everyones ideas for decorations, etc. 

  • @seekinHISwisdom - Thanks....sometimes I feel like a boring Mom, so thank you for the boost! 

    @srheam - still waiting on my USB cord!!  Hopefully today!??

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *